Failure Breeds Success

Below is a note I wrote in January of 2014. I had just closed a chapter of my life and was in the process of writing the next. Going through a failed business venture as an owner is a major gut check in life. I feel I gave my all to the business for years and to comes to terms with failed opportunities and hindsight poor organizational direction can really take the wind out of a guys’ sails.  But a solid life is not built on pondering the missteps, one must learn and carry new experience forward.

Since this note I have become a leader within a large non-profit organization and have helped nurture a team into one of the stronger departments in the organization. I have returned to my roots of passionate leadership and the give, give, give nature of servant leadership. I find real joy in watching a shy co-worker blossom into a strong teammate due to a passionate leader asking him to get uncomfortable. I lead a department that has had zero turn over and moral is being recognized by upper management. These great guys needed direction to blossom and now they, and only they, are the limits to their success.

Enjoy the note below. Feedback is always welcome.

“On the to do list this year, failure. Not that I will put pen to paper and schedule in my failure date with its corresponding fallout but I assure you my 2014 will be riddled with the unforeseen failures.
We are a society driven to succeed. I think that is a good thing as long as we don’t lose the drive during the process. You see, if I’ve learned anything in my days accrued it’s that failure and misfortune happen. Period. If you are immune to not accomplishing a task, or deadline, or job demands than you are a special breed.
I am in the process of closing out a failed business venture. At times it feels as if the endless hours, scrambling, estimating, budgeting and customer meet ups were for nothing. Not to mention the financial side of trying to dig your way out of accrued debt built up just trying to stay ahead. But this failure, I believe, will take me on a new path full of different growth opportunities.
I landed a new jump quickly, due to not waiting for an opportunity to unfold. We must grow and learn from our failures so they may be teaching tools in our next go round the block. The darkest moments of the failing process only get brighter if you keep your feet moving.
Get out and risk yourself. Be uncomfortable for awhile and be open to fail. It’s your best opportunity to grow.
What failure has brought on the most growth in your life?”

Get out and start challenging life and let the failures spring you to new heights.

My best regards,

John J. Keul

john@jacobleadership.com

Leave a Reply

